Great Balls To Fire

Learning how to make pots

Harlech Pottery

20130625-203317.jpg

During a trip up to North Wales this weekend my eye was caught by the Harlech pottery sign above and I had to go in! I’m glad I did because they have two floors filled with artwork and pots in all different shapes, sizes and finishes, as well as an open potters studio that you can have a peek at on the way up the stairs. From tiny animal models to ornate vases, decorative plates and teapots, jugs and mugs, there was something for every price range. Even the light at the top of the stairs had a ceramic pulley!

.
I couldn’t leave without buying a momento and after much deliberation I plumped for this small beautifully finished little pot. I love the colour combination and the rough, gritty finish on the outside which makes it pleasingly tactile. If any potters out there know hot to achieve this sort of finish then please leave a comment! I’d love to know how it is done.

20130625-205952.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment