Great Balls To Fire

Learning how to make pots

Throwing Pots. Term 2 – Week 2

Cornwall

I was a bit gutted to have to miss the second class of the term but the blow was softened a bit by being in Cornwall for a whole week. Between all the pasties, clotted cream and crab that we ate we somehow managed to fit in the odd walk and it was on one of those that my boyfriend found this scallop shell:

20121017-231236.jpg

Beautiful!

I decided that it might make a good sprig for a seaside themed pot so I squished a large amount of clay in and left it out to dry. It seemed a bit massive so I then made another smaller one just using the bottom half of the shell.

20121017-233945.jpg

In a slightly strange coincidence I watched the Great British Bake Off that very same day and they said that biscuit makers in Anglesey use scallop shells to create a unique shaped biscuit called the Aberffraw cake, which is a lot like scallop shell shaped shortbread. I think I might go on holiday to Anglesey next because that must be a very big biscuit!

I hope I can make use of the sprigs on some sort of pot, maybe two matching bowls for seafood or some sort of enormous biscuit barrel for Aberffraw cakes?!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment