Great Balls To Fire

Learning how to make pots

Throwing Pots. Term 2 – Week 1

Back to Class

After a long summer off, it’s so good back! I wonder how much, if anything, I will actually remember from last term.

The new class assemble around a table full of delicious looking pots all different sizes, colours and textures. We are asked to pick the odd one out, a task way too complicated for us. We have about 40 guesses and are still none the wiser. It’s a mug made from a mould, the only one on the table not created on a wheel. I couldn’t tell the difference but it wasn’t one of my favourites.

The wheels have all been moved into a sociable position so this term we are all facing each other which is a nice way to learn. We also have new tools which is very exciting!

Thankfully I remember how to centre a pot which is a big relief as that was definitely the most frustrating skill to learn last year. Now we are all facing each other we can watch and copy at the same time Morgan (the tutor) throws a pot and this seems to really help me. It forces me to slow down and do each stage correctly and as a result I throw the tallest pot I have ever thrown!

20121009-230802.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment